The Road Less Travelled………..

 

I’ve been doing a bit of spring-cleaning – sort of mental spring-cleaning – events over the last couple of months have literally shaken me to my very core. But then, we all have those periods in our lives where one finds oneself either being swept along by events or having events sweep over us and swamp us.

What has precipitated this mental spring-cleaning was this – one of my most valued and respected commenter’s, sent me a poem, a poem this person was not to know  has been one of personal favourites since school

I recall the first time I read it, or at the time was forced to read it, it resonated with me in a way, that to be honest poetry usually doesn’t, it is a rare poem that does that – but this one did, and as I said, has been a personal favourite for most of my life, and don’t worry am not going to go into an arty farty analysis of this poem.

 

The Road Not Taken – Robert Frost, 1874 – 1963

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood

And looked down one as far as I could

To where it bent in the undergrowth;

 

Then took the other, as just as fair,

And having perhaps the better claim,

Because it was grassy and wanted wear;

Though as for that the passing there

Had worn them really about the same,

 

And both that morning equally lay

In leaves no step had trodden black.

Oh, I kept the first for another day!

Yet knowing how way leads on to way,

I doubted if I should ever come back.

 

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

 

https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/road-not-taken

Anyway back to the mental spring cleaning – I took a road some seven months ago when I started this blog, but up until then I was content to comment on other sites, most particularly on AVfM. My goal at that time was to continue to do that (comment) and continue to research a book that had been percolating in my head for about five years.

Between then and now, several things have happened that looking back I should have given more thought to, should have taken more time to reflect on – had I done so – perhaps I would not be writing what I am writing now. Having said that, I have learned things, some good, some not so good and some that I am still trying to process and figure out.

One of the steps on that path I took was when I made the decision to “go public” eventually, with a friend, a real life friend that is, and a fellow member of MRI (Men’s Rights Ireland) we did a “pros and cons” thing – having spent some time around the internet – a lot more than I had ever previously – I already knew that, to be blunt, it had its good, its bad and its downright nasty.

I have over the last 7/8 months encountered almost equal proportions of all of those types, and sometimes discovered that it is difficult to tell them apart. But, it is like that in real life too isn’t it?

One of the most unfortunate things that I have personally have learnt is that even within the so called MHRM – there are those who relish and seem to thrive on being as nasty, and as unscrupulous as the avowed enemies of the MHRM – feminists.

To say I am disenchanted with the MHRM would be an understatement – does that mean that I have “gone over to the other side?” absolutely not – if by that is meant, am I becoming a feminist?

Absolutely not – hell will freeze over before that happens – have never been a feminist and will never be a feminist. Ever.

But while I am sick to death of reading the drivel that spews out of the mouths and keyboards of feminists from the most moronic to the supposedly most academic (sigh) I am almost as equally sick to death reading the almost equally moronic, equally angry rants, vitriol speckled and hate filled spewings of some MRA/MHRA’s.

And yes I know I also post “rants” and also “go after” feminists and most recently a MRA/MHRA “group” – and by the way I stand by every word I wrote. Will get back to that another time.

There are individuals I admire enormously, who post and write under the amorphous banner of the MHRM – but do so as individuals, which I personally prefer, never been a “joiner” each to their own!

Have I suddenly woken up and embraced the NAWALT mantra either? Nope – unfortunately a vast majority of women ARE like that – with that being a major part of why our societies and cultures are in the mess they are now.

But I also know something – that it is the cultural and societal context that prevails in various different societies and the over-arching framework of legislative and political “norms” that allows those women who are “like that” to belike that” and that this does not apply with either equal influence or equal force, or in the same ways, in every single culture.

Ireland is a case in point – a very particular case in point – we have in this country so many layers of interwoven and interconnected “issues” balanced against the backdrop of our equally unique history that citing feminism as the only cause is both wilfully ignorant and deliberately disingenuous, and runs the risk of failing to address to major issues that beset and have beset this country in an attempt to point a finger at a handy “enemy” letting other equally culpable “enemies” slid quietly off the hook and disappear in a fog of populist rhetoric, rabble rousing polemics, and ill-informed badly researched, sloppily put together, self aggrandising soapboxing “articles”

I love this country, I cannot imagine living anywhere else, I wouldn’t live anywhere else, in spite of all its faults and failing, innumerable problems, serious social cultural and political issues that at times seem insurmountable I love my country. While I have encountered some right eejits and gobshoites of both sexes, in general Irish people (other than feminist academic ones that is) are good people.

Not perfect people, not saints, not angels – just people – both male and female – is it getting rarer and rarer to find good women? Yes it is – but they are to be found, just as there are some Irish men that you wouldn’t piss on if they were on fire. With the caveat that any feminist is by default a total wretch.

When I started this – taking this path into the world of the MHRM – my original focus was on two things – exposing the vile toxic roots of feminism and how it had spread from its original source(s) in both the US and the UK – mostly – and had begun to infect all other parts of the western hemisphere, including to some extent Ireland, and advocating for changes within Ireland to public policy, legislation, and cultural and social attitudes that were and are undermining the Human Rights, in specific areas, of Irish men.

That’s it – that was my goal. But, I got distracted. I allowed myself to get swept along a different path. I allowed things that were not good, not positive to become part of my “agenda” for want of a better word.

Am I indebted to many individuals who have inspired me, giving me insight into perspectives that I hadn’t considered before? Absolutely, and off the top of my head Robert St Estephe, Angryharry, Fidelbogan, Janet Bloomfield, Alison Tieman, the guys at Gynocentrism, John Hembling, Diana Davison spring to mind.

But, my focus was, at the start my own backyard – Ireland – and that is where I intend to primarily focus on from now on, both on this blog and on MRI (Men’s Rights Ireland) from different perspectives of course. Do I wish all those dedicated individuals in various different countries all over this world my very best in their own struggles against the toxic influences of feminism in their particular backyards and on their particular battlegrounds? With all my heart.

In many ways your struggles are greater, your “enemy” is more deeply entrenched and determined, and you have many more years of this malign infection to root out and consign to the garbage can of history – hopefully never to be allowed to take root again.

My fear is that, while in many respects Ireland has escaped the full force of feminist influence, not all of it, we’ve always had too many other bloody problems to contend with, to be able to afford to pander to the most outrageous demands of feminist nutjobs – but we are on the brink – with the EU breathing down our necks and basically having us by the short and curly’s – it won’t take much – and it won’t take that long, unless we take steps now to halt this shit in its tracks.

I’ve posted some new links on the blogroll – some useful information on those sites – am not endorsing or saying “these are great sites” go here – just that there is some useful information to be gleaned from them.

With regard to MRI (Men’s Rights Ireland) – we – and yes there is a “we” have been reassessing and revaluating our focus as well – but – because I’ve personally been dealing with more shit in the last couple of months personally than I have in quite a while – it had been put on hold so that I could.

While I have posted on this blog – it has been by way of being a strange kind of “therapy” from my perspective this blog is my baby – but MRI (Men’s Rights Ireland) is and will be a joint effort of several people – one or two who have had their own difficulties to deal with in the last couple of months – it never rains but it pours does it?

I do want to thank all those who have over the last 7/8 months and in particular in the last month or so who have posted some really interesting, intriguing and thought provoking comments, and especially some very kind ones – thank you.

I have spent the last couple of days going through all the comments and during my travels I have found myself pausing and re-reading and thinking – now that comment should be an article – so – I will be emailing a couple of people who have posted these comments to invite you to submit them as an article for MRI (Men’s Rights Ireland) – well you do know that I get your email address when you post a comment?  🙂

Don’t panic – won’t be for a week or so – and sure – you can just say no.

As for those who have taken the time to post less that positive comments – and am not talking about criticisms of anything I have written – just long streams of mostly incomprehensible shoite – fuck off – grow up – get a life – get a hobby.

I turned on moderation on ALL comments, even for those that previously just got posted automatically about two or three weeks ago I think – because to be honest I wanted to be able to view every comment before I clicked “approve” MOST comments as soon as I see the name get “approved” and unless a comment relates to whatever the article the comment appears on – it gets DELETED.

I am a big advocate of Free Speech – it is a fundamental Human Right – but even that has limits – and long poisonous rants are mine.

To my friend who sent me the poem – many thanks for reminding me of something that I thought I had lost – long story – if you ever find yourself in Ireland the Guinness is on me and I’ll tell it to you, it involves falling off a horse, an actual horse not a metaphorical one, which then proceeded to shit on my head………

🙂

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trudy Schuett
    May 17, 2014 @ 00:55:28

    Actually, if I’d had the choice I would’ve chosen the horse over the feminists’ treatment of me and mine. At least the horse is honest about what he’s doing! ;>)

    Reply

    • anjaeriud
      May 17, 2014 @ 01:10:01

      Hi Trudy

      I believe there is a special place in hell reserved for certain feminists – you canoot send that amount of hate and bile out into the universe and not expect it to come back and bite you in the ass – unfortunately – it might not be in this life – but one lives in hope.

      As for the horse – I spooked it – trotting along and I decided to go all Highchaperal – I’d have shit on my head as well – though I swear to this day – that fecking horse winked at me! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Ron
    May 26, 2014 @ 09:16:18

    Yeah it is one thing that always bothered me about anything to do with MHRM is that it’s so US centric that it mostly doesn’t apply here, thankfully in Ireland we’re missing much of the entrenched vitriol that seems so common in North America.

    It doesn’t really do anyone in this country any good getting wound up about things happening several thousand miles away when we have our own problems to deal with here, take this for instance http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/galway-in-shock-at-five-suicides-in-one-weekend-30304365.html, yet another Irish tragedy happening right after this http://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/health-service-failing-patients-says-departing-hiqa-chief-1.1808738.

    We all know about the issues in our health services but the one area where there really is little comeback is when it comes to mental health, afterall, the doctors aren’t involved in the same way they have to be in the emergency room, obstetrics or surgery and in that way it seems it’s so much easier to dismiss the fallout from poor mental health services.

    Personally, I had an awful experience with one of the community mental health centres, I found them to be absolutely useless, adversarial, dismissive and my experiences with them pushed me further into depression. Had it not been for my own GP being beligerent with them I probably wouldn’t be here now. I think if I ever end up in the same place again it would be simply easier and more peaceful for me to die than to engage with any state services and I doubt very much that I am alone in those thoughts. When it comes to mental health services in this country I learned a harsh lesson and the only people I would trust are in the private and voluntary sectors.

    For me it reinforces that we are a country of people with “If you want it done right, do it yourself” imbedded into our psyches, just look at Pieta House, without that service I think it’s very safe to say that our suicide figures would be immensely higher than they are at present, and it (rightfully, in my opinion) reinforces our inbuilt distrust of the establishment. For me this issue right here is one major reason why the MHRM as it stands doesn’t really apply here, the mindset of Irish people is quite specific, there is a level of cynicism in this country that permeates everything, it makes it harder to get things done at times, but it’s also the reason why feminism never took the same hold here as it did in the UK.

    Reply

    • anjaeriud
      May 27, 2014 @ 02:57:17

      Hi Ron

      Thank you for your comment – and in particular for sharing your experience – and am glad that you persevered and are still here – very glad.

      Our country is in a mess – we have lurched from one crisis to the next almost since the very foundation of this state and been “governed” by one shower of gobshoites after another -would be difficult to decide who is and was the worst – for me its a toss up between Mary Harney and Charles Haughy.

      I believe that Irish people are just tired of this – we are weary of hearing one shitty thing after another – our young people – especially our young men are adrift – there are thousands leaving the country – I read recently – will find the source that we haven’t seen emigration levels like this since the famine – and thats saying something.

      Would be great if we could just blame feminism – but then every gombeen crook, corrupt politican, and every other pestilent cause of our current woes would all be let off the hook – and its a long list – a very long list.

      Is feminism or “women’s rights” part of this toxic stew? yep its right in there – middle class twats like Ivana Bacik whining about “gender quotas” – and getting in a huff because nobody bloody voted for her. so-called “women’s charities” on the make – hand out and demanding funding, along with a few others.

      What a lot of people outside Ireland don’t seem to get is this – feminism is part of that “establishment” that Irish people instinctively distrust and are as you rightly said cynical about – it emanates from the top down – hence it is immediately suspect.

      So, yep agree with you – we are going to have to do this ourselves 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

